Image alt text here

Tottenham v Villa team news: Villa unchanged for Spurs clash

Tottenham v Villa live audio/text comms: Tune in from 2pm Gaffer's verdict: Lambert says Villa missed "pivotal chances"
Tottenham v Villa team news: Villa unchanged for Spurs clash

By Dan Harrison at White Hart Lane

Paul Lambert has named an unchanged team for this afternoon's clash against Tottenham Hotspur.

The Villa manager has kept faith with the starting XI that earned a 1-1 draw against West Bromwich Albion last weekend.

It means Gabby Agbonlahor and Christian Benteke will lead the claret and blues attack at White Hart Lane, while Marc Albrighton starts at the ground where he scored his first Barclays Premier League goal.

France skipper Hugo Lloris gets the nod in goal for Tottenham ahead of former Villa keeper Brad Friedel.

It means the veteran American's run of 310 consecutive top-flight games comes to an end against the club he served between 2008 and 2011.

Ex-Villa loanee Kyle Walker lines up in the Spurs back four but the match-winner from last season's fixture between these two sides, Emmanuel Adebayor, has to settle for a place on the home bench.

TOTTENHAM: Lloris, Walker, Vertonghen, Gallas, Caulker, Dempsey, Lennon, Bale, Dembele, Sandro, Defoe. Subs: Huddlestone, Adebayor, Dawson, Sigurdsson, Friedel, Falque, Townsend.

VILLA: Guzan, Lowton, Vlaar (c), Clark, Bennett, El Ahmadi, Delph, Albrighton, Holman, Agbonlahor, Benteke. Subs: Given, Westwood, Bannan, N'Zogbia, Bent, Weimann, Lichaj.

By @AVFCOfficial 7th October 2012
{{ shares.toLocaleString() }} shares