Image alt text here

Premier League 2 fixtures: 2016/17 schedule announced

Academy news: Villa to contest Premier League International Cup Stiliyan Petrov update
Premier League 2 fixtures: 2016/17 schedule announced
The fixtures for the 2016/17 Premier League 2 season have been released.

This replaces the competition formerly known as the U21 Premier League.

Our Young Lions kick off their campaign with a home match against Wolverhampton Wanderers.

They then travel to Brighton before a home meeting with Newcastle United.

Derby matches against West Brom take place on Monday September 19 and Monday January 9.

The claret and blues are targeting another prosperous season after reaching the play-off final in 2015/16, losing to Arsenal at The Emirates.

Premier League 2 is a new competition with a greater focus on a level of play in terms of technicality, physicality and intensity to bring players as close to first-team experience as possible.

The age limit for players has risen from U21 to U23 (namely, players born after 1 January 1993).

The rules regarding over-age players will remain the same, where each team can field a goalkeeper over the age limit and up to three “over-age” outfield players in every match.

All play-off matches are one-off ties, decided by extra-time, then penalties if the match is level after 120 minutes.

Full fixture list
Mon Aug 15 Wolverhampton Wanderers H Bodymoor Heath 2pm
Mon Aug 22 Brighton and Hove Albion A TBC 7pm
Mon Aug 29 Newcastle United H Villa Park 7pm
Mon Sep 12 Fulham A Fulham FC Training Ground 7pm
Mon Sep 19 West Bromwich Albion H Bescot Stadium 7pm
Mon Sep 26 Middlesbrough A TBC
Mon Oct 17 West Ham United H Bescot Stadium 7pm
Mon Oct 24 Swansea City H Bodymoor Heath TBC
Mon Oct 31 Blackburn Rovers H Bescot Stadium 7pm
Mon Nov 21 Norwich City H Villa Park 7pm
Sat Nov 26 Stoke City A TBC 2pm
Mon Dec 12 Newcastle United A St James’ Park 7pm
Mon Dec 19 Fulham H Bescot Stadium 7pm
Mon Jan 9 West Bromwich Albion A Kidderminster Harriers FC 7pm
Mon Jan 16 Middlesbrough H Villa Park 7pm
Mon Jan 30 West Ham United A TBC 7pm
Mon Feb 6 Norwich City A Carrow Road 7pm
Mon Feb 20 Stoke City H Bescot Stadium 7pm
Fri Mar 3 Wolverhampton Wanderers A Molineux Stadium 7pm
Mon Mar 13 Brighton and Hove Albion H Villa Park 7pm
Mon Apr 10 Swansea City A TBC
Mon Apr 24 Blackburn Rovers A Ewood Park 7pm
Sat May 6 Play-off semi-final
Sat May 13 Play-off final
AVFC Official
By @AVFCOfficial 20th July 2016